Change

The first thing that came into my mind as I looked at today’s photo prompt from Creative Writing Ink, was a short, little poem I wrote just before I started university. Poetry’s never been my strongest form of writing, probably because I simply enjoy writing prose so much more, but I had a go, and this poem was later published in a young writers’ anthology, so I figured it might be worth sharing.

Change
Creative Writing Ink 06/07/17

There’s something strange about this crazy world;

I wanted to sit back as it unfurled,

But now I’m trapped in these churning waters,

Stuck watching as the confusion slaughters.

I don’t know who I am or where to go:

Do I stand out or join the pressing flow?

I need a guide to help me through the dark,

Because I’m here and want to leave my mark.

Everything’s changing; everything’s new,

But I guess that’s life, and you feel it, too.

14 thoughts on “Change

      1. Haha well I’ve written stories and poems ever since I was five and I’m now nineteen, so I suppose that depends on your take on things! I’ve never written anything professional, though, and, as for blogging, this is my first blog and is just about a year old now 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

