Unseen Hero

This week’s photo prompt from Flash Fiction for Aspiring Writers demanded a fair bit of thinking about; the picture could have taken me in several directions this time around, but I finally settled on a story that came to 174 words, one word within the limit. Enjoy!


I stand at the very edge of the tower block, my eyes scanning the streets below. I can see them all from here, whether they’re strolling through the suburbs or rushing about their business in the bustling streets beyond. They never look up at me. They’re too intent on their own destinations to give a thought for anything happening around them.

FFfAW
Credit: Grant-Sud

Two months back, a woman had jumped from this very building, casting her life aside as she’d dived into oblivion. No one had noticed her before it’d been too late. No one had saved her.

I move a little closer to the edge, the toes of one foot now hanging off entirely. I wonder what she’d been thinking as she’d stood here. Had she been lonely? Or had she been relieved as she’d given up the fight?

I move away from the edge once more, mind resolute. Never again will I let this happen in my home. I will watch for them. I will wait, and when they need me, I’ll be there.

 

18 thoughts on “Unseen Hero

  1. I don’t think the young man and the woman are related at all. I think he’s a person with a social conscience who wants to make a difference. I wrote about the young man as a hero too, but quite a different one.

    Liked by 2 people

      1. Just indicating you’re a super hero waiting to save people – the last line “I will watch for them. I will wait, and when they need me, I’ll be there.” – it sounds like something out of a movie/ comic strip of a super hero waiting to help those in need.

        I always joke at home that I need a cape for being super mom. Watching and be vigilant over the children to keep them from harm.

        Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

