A Jar of Marbles

This 100 word story is for the purposes of The Friday Fictioneers Challenge that runs on a weekly basis. You can read the other entries for the competition by clicking on the blue froggy button at the bottom of this post.


janet-webb-french-still-life.jpg
Credit: Janet Webb

Some people bury their secrets in the past, but not my mother. She buries her secrets in a jar of marbles. She doesn’t know I’ve seen them, and I’m not sure I’ll ever tell her, but up on the windowsill, next to the old candlestick and forgotten paintings she did long ago, sits her jar.

I’d noticed that someone had moved all the marbles round, so I’d stuck my hand inside. I’d seen the old photographs and crumbled drawings. Now, I feel almost ashamed; I feel like I’ve crossed some line somewhere and stumbled upon her soul.

43 thoughts on “A Jar of Marbles

  1. I would feel guilty too , if I were her. Hope her mother is forgiving and despite the knowledge of the incident and first awkward conversation , it gradually opens up new possibilities for the mother-daughter relationship.
    Lovely story , Emily !

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks for sharing your thoughts! Yes, let’s hope that the relationship doesn’t get too awkward from now on… I can only half-blame the child, though, as they didn’t know what they were going to find when they stuck their hand in there! Thanks again for reading 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Dear Emily,

    I always felt guilty digging around in my parents stuff, but hey, isn’t that what all kids do? Often we find something we wish we hadn’t. That sounds like the situation here.

    Well done, and welcome to FFF,
    Russell

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

