Unique Blogger Award

I need to thank Vivid Tales for nominating me for my second ever blog award! It’s so nice to feel appreciated by other bloggers; it really gives a confidence boost, as well as prompting that nice, warm feeling that I’m sure we all know and love. Please do check out this blog – Abhi is a great writer and always manages to evoke those most powerful emotions.

Unique Blogger Award

Rules:

  1. Link to the blogger who has shown love to you by nominating you.
  2. Answer the questions you are given.
  3. In the spirit of sharing love and solidarity with our blogging family, nominate 8-13 people for the same award.
  4. Ask the people you nominate 3 new questions.

My Questions:

Here are the questions that I was asked; I must say, I struggled a little on the last one!

Q: As a writer, what is more satisfying to you (reader’s traffic, likes, comments, personal connection) and how will you define success as a writer?

A: I write because it’s what I like doing. It’s a hobby and it’s a way of expressing myself, so, of course I’m not going to say that likes and comments don’t make me happy. I want people to read my work and it encourages me when they give feedback. At the same time, though, I only like that; the response and interaction with others doesn’t actually affect my writing, and I wouldn’t stop just because my ratings dropped. I’d therefore have to say that the actual process of writing in itself is the most satisfying – whilst I like reading other people’s works and having them read mine, that’s not what really matters to me.

Q: Personally, deep inside your heart, what is your current state of mind and what things are you seeking in order to be happy – career, money, fame, love, etc.?

A: I’ve just moved into my first flat before I start my second year of uni, so, honestly, my current state of mind is pretty relaxed. It was pretty chaotic. I didn’t know whether I was ready for all the ‘adult’ things that come with renting a flat, such as paying bills and buying fridges and washing machines. Things are going pretty well, though. The flat hasn’t burnt down and things are getting sorted. It’s really encouraging, so, for the moment, I think all that I want, is for things to keep going as they are. I’ll hold off a while before I start thinking about any more big goals, I think.

Q: How wild and rebellious are you? Tell the readers some taboo-breaking experience of yours.

A: Well, I generally consider myself quite a good girl. I was always one to do my homework on time etc., so I haven’t really got any exciting ‘bad girl’ experiences to tell. I suppose the most rebellious, if we’re talking about doing something that is outside social convention, would be to move in with my boyfriend, even though we go to uni in different cities. I know people think it’s a little strange, and I certainly didn’t see it coming, but, I’m going to be honest… our flat is much nicer than student housing!

Your Questions:

So now I need to give my nominees three new questions. Here we go!

  1. Can you remember the first story you ever wrote? Can you remember what triggered it/influenced it? Or are you more like me – writing so much that you can’t remember that far back?
  2. Why do you write online, opposed to keeping your writing to yourself? I only ask because I used to be very private about my writing. I didn’t have the courage to show anyone because I was too scared that they’d criticise it. Was it the same for you?
  3. Which one of these do you think is the more powerful – a sad story that makes the tears flow, or a story that fills you with confidence and determination? I think it’s interesting; obviously both are powerful, because they affect us so much, but which does so more?

My Nominees:

Finally, if you’re looking for a new blog to follow, whether they’re a beginner or old-timer, these are the blogs that I highly recommend you check out! They all possess a unique quality of writing that is really quite admirable.

  1. Sweeter than Nothing.
  2. Soul Connection.
  3. Flip Flops Every Day.
  4. Ramblings of a Writer.
  5. Behind the White Coat.
  6. Neel Writes Blog.
  7. L.E.R.T.
  8. Jessica Bakkers.
17 thoughts on “Unique Blogger Award

  1. Pingback: Unique blogger award – sweeterthannothing

  2. Hey, Ems! Thanks for the shout out! So sweet. When I first started blogging (my first blog/2nd blogs) I think this my 3rd now…and in the very beginning, these award buttons were the rage! They were flying around like crazy, and with everyone following the same people as we truly are like herds. We tend to fall in a realm of “who’s this that liked your post” and off we go to explore those individuals. It becomes even more fun as you begin to communicate via comments and you see the same like icons, and same bloggers comments. So what happened with these buttons, its they would overlap, since it wasn’t 1 person you were nominating next, but 10+. So i began to ignore them. I would politely thank the individual, of course, but it was becoming “spam” like. Everyone receiving the same award few/several times. HOWEVER, what is different about yours…you actually ask some truly thought provoking questions. Hmmmm.

    I’m not certain how long you’ve been reading my posts, but I am in the middle of a HUGE move so I will try to make a post specific to this. 🙂 Because I like how you presented this post. Well done!

    AND TO COMMENT ON YOUR POST CONTENT: I think it is totally FINE to live with your boyfriend first. #1) you save money on a rental because you can share same room and split living costs, This is how I talked my husband (then boyfriend) into moving in together first – it was more financial #2) You spend most of your time with that individual – so cut out travel/gas etc. #3) Before marrying someone, you don’t truly know who they are until you have to pick their dirty underwear up off the floor.

    Have a fantastic day – Sandi

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks so much for your kind words, Sandi. I completely understand why these things might seem like “spam” sometimes, so of course there is no pressure to write a post yourself, but I’m glad you liked the questions I asked 🙂 I always love reading your posts – please keep them up!

      Like

  3. Pingback: Unique Blogger Award 2017 – Ramblings of a Writer

  4. Pingback: Unique Blogger Award. – SOUL CONNECTION

  5. Pingback: The Versatile Blogger Award – A Writer's Beginning

Leave a Reply

