Alphascream

This week’s Weekend Writing Prompt, a challenge hosted by Sammi Cox, considers the theme of fear. The prose challenge asks its participants to consider this word, along with the below picture, as they compose a pangram. As Sammi explains, this is a one-word sentence that contains all the letters of the alphabet at least once. So, here’s my sentence:

Credit: Sammi Cox

I feel them watching me through the quiet haze, their waxy eyes pinned to my back, as if they would just reach out, bring me to my knees and devour me, even as I scream.


Surprisingly, the letter that I struggled with most here was not “q”, “x” or “z”, but “j” – how very strange letters are when you really think about them. Thanks for reading, and thanks again to Sammi Cox for hosting this wonderful challenge.

9 thoughts on “Alphascream

  1. Hey A Writer’s Beginning,

    Your sentence left me with shivers, chilled my spine, almost devoured me. Is this the same sense of expectant trepidation once felt by Little Red Riding Hood just prior to her meeting the wolf? πŸ™‚

    Very clever and atmospheric. Thank you.

    Namaste πŸ™‚

    DN

    Liked by 1 person

      1. If I should ever be so bold as to venture the dark woods and meet Lil Red, I will be sure to ask her thoughts on this πŸ™‚ Until then I feel it would be wise to take heed and keep close eye out for wolves. Bwahahahaha! lol πŸ™‚

        Take great care of you in the forest of life. Enjoy a wonderful week!

        Namaste πŸ™‚

        DN

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

