Two Alone

Here’s another short story for the weekly prompt competition at Flash Fiction for Aspiring Writers, which runs from Monday to Monday with a maximum word count of 175 words. Thank you for reading and enjoy!


Dorothy.jpg
Credit: Dorothy

Billy was too young to notice. He gargled on the back seat as they flew under the trees, his head lulling and his feet only barely moving in the circular peddling movement.

I wasn’t too young, though. I noticed.

The biggest one was astride a moped, bright red and stunning, whilst the others were all sat about on racing bikes or BMXs. They stared hard as we approached on our two-person cycle, blocking the school gates.

I could see them sneering, just waiting to crack that next joke and see my eyes sparkle with tears. I glanced back at Billy, who was still completely oblivious to the situation.

I sighed, and then made my decision. In one move, I heaved the handlebars around and peddled straight through the undergrowth towards a back alley that I hoped would lead out to the old theme park.

“Where are we going?” piped up Billy. I ignored him, eyes set on the old carousel. How would it be if I just kept on peddling?


Word Count: 170

Click on the blue froggy for more stories!

If you’re looking for more prompt challenges, check out my Sunday Scrawl.

17 thoughts on “Two Alone

  1. Hey A Writer’s Beginning,

    The scourge of the bully, what a sorry tale they tell! I enjoyed the differing perspectives of the main characters – both vulnerable for different reasons – and found strength in the person steering the bike. Strength and resolve and a deeper sense of knowing that at times its better to protect than tempt fate to soon. You’ve included a lot in 170 words. Thank you 🙂

    You ask – ‘How would it be if I just kept on peddling?’ – I reply with, that might depend on the direction you intend to pedal and for how far? Take a picnic and water 🙂

    Have a wonderful week. Take care.

    Namaste 🙂

    DN

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you! I’m glad you liked the different characters, as I wanted Billy to seem pretty distant, but that still wouldn’t mean that he’d be punished by the bullies! Haha, I’ll remember that about the picnic! Great advice. Thanks for reading 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

