The Versatile Blogger Award

On the same day as I posted my last blog awardSoul Connection nominated me for The Versatile Blogger Award! Whilst I was very pleased, I thought that it would be too soon for me to post about another award, so I decided to leave it a while. Nevertheless, I need to thank Soul Connection for this nomination! It’s so nice to feel appreciated in this way!versatile

Rules:

  1. Thank the person who nominated you.
  2. Nominate up to 15 bloggers for this award.
  3. Share 7 facts about yourself.
  4. Put the logo of Versatile Blogger in your post and display the rules.

Facts about Me:

  1. I absolutely adore nature. I consider myself – not an activist exactly – but I want to help animals and the environment. I hope, in the future, I can help our world as I can.
  2. I prefer writing to reading. I’ve always felt bad admitting this, particularly as I’m taking an English Literature course, not a Creative Writing course, but, even though I like books and I appreciate other writers’ works, writing will always be my true passion.
  3. I’m a bit of a Potterhead. I can’t remember how old I was when I saw the first film, but I remember that I was pretty young when I got hooked on the books. Even now, I listen to their audiobooks (read by Stephen Fry – I can thoroughly recommend them) to relax.
  4. I’m still not very sure about what I want to do in the future. As an undergrad, it’s about time that I started making some big decisions, but I’m struggling a fair bit if I’m honest.
  5. I have a tendency towards misanthropy (in other words, I sometimes view the human race pretty darkly. Philosophy taught me that we may only do good deeds out of our own need to survive, and, considering some of the evil things in the world, it’s not hard to judge our species).
  6. Having never really lived in a big city, I definitely prefer the countryside – I went to London a few months ago and hated every second of it; it was all noise and people, like there wasn’t enough space to breathe.
  7. I’m probably going to start a new blog section soon – more non-fiction based about either philosophy or Ancient Greece/Rome – let me know if you’ve got any ideas/advice for me!

This is the part where I’m supposed to nominate some new blogs for the award, but I’m going to have to pass on that this time. It just hasn’t been long enough since my last lot of nominations, and I know that a lot of people that I interact with are “award-free”, so I’m just going to leave you with this: anyone who reads this post and would like to receive the award, consider yourself nominated!

Thanks for reading, and thanks again to Soul Connection for the nomination! I really appreciate it.

12 thoughts on “The Versatile Blogger Award

  1. Hey Emily,

    A quick line to say, congratulations on the award. It is another to add to an already amassing collection 🙂

    I’m tired this evening, so have bullet pointed a response to each of the above.

    1. What plans do you have after graduation? Have you ever considered Teaching English as a Foreign Language (TEFL) and heading off overseas to a part of the world where you could also enjoy engagement or participation with an aspect of Nature that attracts you eg: Vietnam and working with Elephants?
    2. I agree, writing is an indulgence and reading a pleasure. There is room for both and great reward in enjoying both of course. I am of the mind that we learn about ourselves as much through consideration of another’s work as we might through our own practice and passionate endeavour. Who are the authors you’ll be studying? And which authors do you enjoy?
    3.Me to! Audible Books rocks and HP read by SF is a wonderful listen. I started collecting last year and have them filed away in my virtual library until time allows for a full listen. I couldn’t help myself and dipped in and out of the story randomly for a few hours. It is a teaser for the real listen. However, I do enjoy watching the films…the last two are favourites as well as Order of the Phoenix. And you?
    4. Me neither lol 🙂 Maybe next life around I’ll have it all figured our before I get here 🙂
    5. Are you a Nietzsche fan by any chance?
    6. I hear you on the location location location front. I’d trade my City edge aspect for one with a similar view but with a lightly different locale. I’ve moved many, many times in life, and if asked for advice would say stick to living in the place where your heart wants to be and then you’ll always be at home no matter where you might actually be staying 🙂 Oh, and always pack light.
    7. Enjoy what you Blog and enjoy each journey en route to each posting. Happy writing!

    Well, that’s me done. I’m off to get dinner as I am close to famished, so will wish you a wonderful weekend. Take care y’all.

    Namaste 🙂

    DN

    Like

    1. Wow thanks so much for the feedback, Dewin!
      1. I’ve thought a little about teaching after I finish uni, but I think I’d be too nervous to go all the way to the other side of the world!
      2. I like that viewpoint a lot! I’m going to be reading a lot of varied writers this year, my favourite being Dickens, but I’m also going to attempt Chaucer for the first time!!
      3. I’m glad someone else appreciates these audiobooks! I have them all on Audible, too :). I actually prefer the earlier films, though – the 3rd was always my favourite!
      5. I like Nietzsche, but my main influence is Thomas Hobbes.
      6. That’s such a lovely sentiment. I hope I won’t have to move thaaatt much haha!
      Thanks so much for reading. Have a good week!! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Hey Emily,

    If I had a good excuse to offer for my tardy reply it would be fr the first time lol 🙂 As it is I don’t recall anything from 6:21p.m on August 10th onwards. It is a complete blank! Does amnesia give me plausible deniability? 🙂 Sorry.

    Thank you for your reply. Shall we continue with the bullet-point system, it seems to work? 🙂

    1. Two or three years studying at University will fundamentally change you. Perhaps if I were to ask you when you graduate with honours (?) in the near future if you’d chance adventure you may feel differently. I am only planting seeds of thought nothing more.
    2. Dickens and Chaucer. That is a fine balance, but who the dickens is Dickens? Oh yes, Charles, he who twisted young Oliver’s fate and penned other tales of Scrooge. He was a master storyteller, who characters are electric. Do you enjoy film or musical theatre? I would recommend watching the musical movie “Oliver!” (1968) starring Ron Moody as Fagin. In my youth this vision of Oliver Twist was adored. Ron Moody remains my definitive Fagin. I’d enjoy hearing your thoughts.
    3. Ahh, you are a classic Potterhead 🙂 I like the choice you made. I imagine the darker the film, the deeper we are stirred emotionally and psychologically. I enjoy Harry’s character more as he ages. He grows into the name. Audio Books – I now have 50 titles or so. They take up no room on the bookshelves lol 🙂
    5. Hmm, Hobbes. I will read up on him. Thank you Emily, I always appreciate a recommended title or author.
    6. Oooh never say never or discard opportunity where and when it suits your life plan, but don’t hold anything back to make a return journey. You know what happened to Bilbo when he took just the one walk! He came back very different.

    You didn’t answer number 4, but that’s okay. It was more a rhetorical statement than a question…perhaps a note to self lol 🙂

    Emily, late is the hour and I must rise early to beat the Crows and Ravens to the bread crumbs on next doors garden bird-table. So I must away, and leave you with best wishes for the week ahead. Take care of one and all in your life.

    Namaste 🙂

    DN

    Like

    1. Hi Dewin,

      Thanks for the response, don’t worry about the late reply haha! I like the bullet-point system, too.

      1) That’s a good point! Just hopefully I will get a better idea as the degree goes on.
      2) I can’t say that I’ve seen that version myself, but I have definitely seen a few! Maybe I’ll give it a watch some time and let you know what I think… but yes, I absolutely love the diversity of Dickens’ works.
      3) I like the idea of that; the film’s definitely get more interesting as they get darker. I guess I like the third one so much because it marks the change from the first two, which are somewhat lighter, to the darker ones. Audio books – yes, I agree! I also really like listening to some audio books alongside the actual print books, particularly when the storylines are more complex.

      Thanks again for your lovely comment, Dewin, it’s great to hear from you! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Good evening Emily,

        How are you? I trust Tuesday brought a smile or two to add to those already accumulated this week? I am in training for a new job role this week but smiles are what keeps the spirit buoyant through the challenge…well that and the panoramic view from the 8th floor of a city tower-block. I love being this high up in the air with solid ground beneath my feet 🙂

        Bullet-points it is then:

        1. Excellent! You sound really enthused and open-minded about all emergent possibilities, and also open-hearted and willing to feel your way, which I applaud. I studied Animation but rarely read a book on animation. Once the whole idea of creating ‘an illusion of life’ takes hold the ideas that emerge from that notion had me reaching every which way for reading. No doubt you’ll be much the same as you soak up and immerse within literature. When you talk about your passions and interests, the ‘voice’ in your words changes 🙂
        2. If chance allows Emily, please watch it…90 minutes of your life to watch Moody as Fagin and celebrate an icon of stage and screen! I tend to think Dickens and Shakespeare both come alive when given imaginative interpretation through dramatization.
        3. Regards Audio-books, best idea since sliced bread, I have an overall favourite reader in R.C Bray. He is an American whose voice was hewn by hand from soft granite and parked in the voice box of a gnarly Marine. His voice adds dimensions to both story and characters. I also enjoy listening to actors reading material with their ‘trained’ voices. The likes of Morgan Freeman, Jodie Foster, Jim Broadbent, Stephen Fry etc. No doubt you’ve favourites.

        With only three bullet-points to chat about now discussed my comment is done and I off to cause chaos and mayhem elsewhere bwahahahaha 🙂

        Hoping Wednesday, Woden’s Day, is neither wooden nor woeful, but a day of wonder bringing your memories to last. Take care.

        Namaste 🙂

        DN

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

