Street Art

This is another short story for the weekly prompt competition at Flash Fiction for Aspiring Writers, which runs from Monday to Monday on a weekly basis. Thank you so much for reading and enjoy!


It had been a long time since anyone had looked at me the way she was looking at me. Her green eyes were bright, free from accusation. There was no hatred there; there was no disgust or anger. There was only love.

Yarnspinnerr
Credit: Yarnspinnerr

She leant down beside me, dirtying her fragile-looking skirts in my muck, but she didn’t seem to care. She leant down close – closer than anyone had in a good long while – and whispered,

“I think it’s beautiful.”

Tentative, she placed one hand about my cheek. My breath caught in my throat and I reached up to touch it, but, before I could, a sharp snap on the back of my head sent me reeling.

“She’s six years old, you creep!” shouted the girl’s mother, dragging her from my grasp.

I sighed, watching the girl as she bobbed helplessly away.

People were too quick to judge. They thought that, because I made street art, I was homeless, and because I missed human contact, I was – I shuddered.

People disgusted me.


Word Count: 170
Click on the blue froggy for more stories!

If you’re looking for more prompt challenges, check out my Sunday Scrawl.

19 thoughts on “Street Art

  1. Hmm. This is a timely piece ,society conditions our sense of judgement . While we would visit our neighbour’s home or play in the community park even without adult supervision , in our childhood , I can’t imagine leaving my daughter alone anywhere , except for her school , on account of rapidly increasing incidents of assaults and child abuse, here in my country . Same holds true of interactions with strangers .
    Nicely told, Emily .

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Thanks, Moon! 🙂 You’re quite right – it’s very interesting how times have changed so much, although I think a part of it might be that there’s more awareness of incidents, too! Thanks so much for your lovely words.

      Like

  2. It is so sad that it has come to this. Children are so natural and can bring so much joy to people. Everything is over protected these days. I fondly remember the day that we roamed around on the streets when we were small and never ever anything happened. Great story

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

