Needless Cares

It’s been a long time since I’ve entered the Ad Hoc Fiction Writing Competition, so I decided to have a go at this week’s prompt. This challenge is to write a story in 150 words or less, based on a specific word, this week’s word being “hill”. You can read and vote for last week’s entries here. Enjoy!


I feel strangely’ elevated, as though my senses have been dulled and my thoughts have been calmed. It’s like I don’t have to worry anymore; now, I don’t have to fear the future or jump at every misdirected shadow.

14128801_545815868941087_1164325885_n(1)I feel as though I should be worrying. I should be obsessing about the dirt under my fingernails and the cool breeze passing across me, but all my little obsessions – all my overreactions and needless cares – they’re gone.

As I stand here at the top of the hill, gazing out across the town that I know so well, I understand the futility of it all.

I don’t need to worry, because there’s nothing to worry about – not really. I’m alive, and that fact – that single, absolute fact, is just wonderful.


Word Count: 129

One thought on “Needless Cares

  1. Pingback: Author Interview – Al Burke – “The King is Dead” (Epic Fantasy) | toofulltowrite (I've started so I'll finish)

Leave a Reply

