The March

Their war cries rang in our ears as we marched, echoing our raspy breaths and heavy footsteps. It was as if they were still pursuing us, chasing us even now.

Danny Bowman
Credit: Danny Bowman

We didn’t look back; there was nothing to look back to.

We only walked, the soles of our feet aching from the miles already behind us and our toes itching from our many scratches and blisters.

I look to the hills overhead, and feel my heart ache. We’d nearly reached our sanctuary, but there were so many of us who would never get there. There were so many we’d failed.


Word Count: 100
Click the blue froggy for more stories!

This short story is for the purposes of theΒ Friday Fictioneers writing prompt. This is one of the toughest that I’ve encountered, as participants only have 100 words to answer the given photo prompt. Thank you so much for reading!

35 thoughts on “The March

    1. I quite like this idea – when I was writing the story I suppose I was setting it in a fantasy world, but I like the idea of maybe a dystopian, apocalyptic setting. Thanks for reading and commenting, Michael πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

  1. I recently read a book called ‘A Long Walk to Water’ by Linda Sue Park. It tells the story of ‘Salva Dut’ a ‘lost boy’ from Sudan who had to walk all the way to Kenya to escape the internal war. Your story reminded me of that. Very good, emotive writing Emily. Well done.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks for reading! In my head this was a group of innocents, with the elderly and children included, but then that begs the question, how did they get away? You raise a good point – perhaps they did fight back.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Great job on this! I was thinking that they are refugees. Based on the description of their still feeling pursued and the references to those who didn’t make it, it sounds like some of them may have or be at risk for PTSD. I think this may make a good storyline.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. That’s a nice idea! I was definitely thinking that those on the march were reflecting on those that they’d lost in a very serious way, so PTSD is probably very accurate. Thanks so much for reading and commenting. πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

