A Moment of Solitude

Here’s my interpretation of today’s Weekend Prompt Challenge, hosted by Sammi Cox. This is a varied challenge that I enjoy taking part in, which is why, this week, I have attempted both the prose and the poetry challenge. Thank you very much for reading and I hope that you enjoy my writing!


Prose Challenge

Task: Write a story in 100 words that includes three elements from the photo prompt (e.g. bench, pylon and trees, or grass, sky and bench, etc.).

There’s a breeze in the air. It’s not strong enough to make me shiver inside my many socks and jumpers, but it causes me to lean forwards on the bench, hugging my knees slightly. I’ve been sitting here for too long now, but I don’t want to leave. I’ve been studying the trees in the distance, letting my thoughts wander from the troubles of reality. I’d needed it, this break – this moment of solitude – but now, as I glance skyward, I notice the grey clouds on the horizon.

Reality’s waited long enough, I think, as I climb to my feet.

Poetry Challenge

Solitude.jpg
Credit: Sammi Cox

Task: Write an acrostic poem, where the first letter of the first word of each line spells out “resting” as it is read from top to bottom.

Rippled rays of silver starlight
Escaping from the sky’s confines;
Slipping through the dark of night;
Tiptoeing to your door it shines.
Inside it divides – star’s delight!
Now to your bedside it does creep
Gently cradling you as you sleep.

8 thoughts on “A Moment of Solitude

Leave a Reply

